Learning to let go

Yesterday I met a man who was typing away with books at his side and I felt compelled to talk to him.I thought I’d never seen before but he told me I must have forgotten him as he recognised my face.

I discovered that we both had a love to read and write which made for an interesting conversation. “I have a blog” I said. He seemed intrigued; he wanted to know more so I explained a little but held back on the web address.

There is something quite terrifying about sharing my blog at times. My blog is very honest but in person I often don’t share quite so much.

Having someone read the personal things I’ve written that I probably wouldn’t tell them face to face is something I fear. I’m the kind of person that instinctively tries to portray the image of ‘the girl who has it together’ in real life whereas online I guess it’s easier to just let go.

Since I’ve started getting better from depression one of my goals has been to be more open in real life. I’m learning that it’s okay to feel whatever I feel and express it. It’s easy to be myself with strangers though because they’ve never known me to be anything more or less.

So that is why I spent quite some time talking to the man I met yesterday and allowed him to get to know me. Sharing just enough that he’d want to know more.

Jimi x

2 thoughts on “Learning to let go

Leave a Reply

