A promise to myself

Maybe it’s because the sun is shining but I’m feeling pretty optimistic. I want to work hard and go after the things in life that I daydream about.
It’s pretty easy to say what you want but going after it is challenging and scary. Maybe that’s why people settle, they want a life that is comfortable with low risk.

I’ve known quite a few people who want that from life. It’s easy to just go through the motions of life without stopping to really think about what you want.
I’ve always hated the idea of settling but it’s hard sometimes to have the continuous motivation and self belief to push myself as much as I should and really see how far I can go.

I remember almost 3 years ago, when I got my GCSE grades. Despite getting mostly Bs, a couple As and an A*, I wasn’t pleased. I had never challenged myself enough because I knew that I would still get by with decent grades.
With my blog I make posting schedules but never stick to them and I write down all these ideas but take months to turn them into posts. I guess I’d say I do enough to keep my blog afloat but I’m not challenging myself which is why I want to be doing 5 posts every week.

Over the years I’ve realised that I’ve been limiting myself in all aspects of my life and the result of that has been missing out on many great opportunities.

It’s a terrible feeing to have when you realise that you are the one thing standing in your own way. I’ve come to realise that unless I learn to push myself I will never truly be happy.

So I’m making a promise to myself, not to settle but to go after what I want in life, to be a hard worker, dream chaser and to know that I am capable of greatness.

Then one day I’ll be able to say that I know what it truly means to live.

Jimi x

4 thoughts on “A promise to myself

Leave a Reply

