Pollyanna is always a winner

2 days ago I began my day getting ready for work and for no particular reason I wasn’t in the best mood. All of a sudden I had this epiphany: ‘I can take control of how my day turns out. I can be like Pollyana and make today a good day’.

It probably sounds silly but I just kept reminding myself to have a good day. The strange thing was not only did that positive thought become a reality but the day also. got better and better.

Not long before I finished work my friend that I work with got a call from a college friend (who I also know) and tells me a few of them are meeting him after work. I ended up going too because I always have fun hanging out with the guys.

Instead of names i’ll give the guys numbers.

1 is the guy that I work with and he is kind and super chilled.

2 is they guy I don’t know too much but I know he is a good friend.

3 is a guy I’ve known since primary school (over 10 years), who always makes me laugh and I totally adore him.

So me and 1 left work, met 2 and 3 then they started talking about the other guy we were meeting with.

4, who I last spoke to over 6 months ago and things were pretty awkward for me. However prior to this I considered him a great friend and someone that I trusted more than most.

After finding out 4 was going to be there I was tempted to go home because the thought of seeing him was terrifying.

That’s when my morning epiphany came back to me and also the phrase ‘Feel the fear and do it anyway’ and then I just knew I couldn’t miss this opportunity to do something that scared me a little.

So we all went to meet 4 and everything was fine, in fact it went amazingly well.

We were just hanging out listening to music and the one song that I’d never heard before stuck in my mind: Can’t stop by Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Everytime I hear that song it will take me back to March 21st which turned  out to be a pretty special day.

That day I realised that ‘Pollyanna is always a winner’.

I also realised that ‘Situation is just that, it has no special power, to do you harm, it’s your actions that count’. Well actually that’s a Funkadelic lyric but March 21st gave was an example that showed me it is true.

 

XO lmg

 

 

Leave a Reply

