Documenting my life

Happy 300th blog post to me!

When I was 11 I decided that I was going to start writing a journal. Less than 2 years later I got my first phone and used it to take pictures but also to take note of thoughts I had whilst out and about. 2 1/2 years later I created my first blog on WordPress a place online where I would share my interests and also write about my life.

lmg-pic-0096

Fast forward to present day and I am still doing all of these things. I am on journal number 14 (I think), still take photos and make notes on my current phone and I am still blogging.

I’ve come to the conclusion that documenting my life is not just a habit, it’s instinct. One of the reasons is this fear of growing up and forgetting. When I was 9 or 10 a friend told me how her relative had dementia and I remember thinking it sounded terrifying. A few years ago I sat on my bed writing in my journal thinking that if my memory ever went then at least I would have my whole life documented in my journals.

wpid-img_20140930_170201.jpg

What I find almost strange is a lot of what has been written in my journals is about being unhappy or unsatisfied and other things that I have struggled with since I was a pre-teen, yet I am so keen to never forget.

Sometimes I feel like my whole life has been spent striving for something just out of reach. Maybe I spend so much time documenting my life because I secretly believe that at some point I will accomplish all that I have strived for and when I do I want to remember what I had gone through prior.

wpid-collage_20140807193007005.jpg

 

When it comes to blogging I love writing about my life it’s like another version of my journal at times (minus the finer details). I like writing about the ideas and thoughts I have on life because I feel like they are worth sharing and also because I’d like to think that there is at least one other person who has thought the same thing or can get something from it.

This year I also started a scrapbook kinda thing. So far I have only done 2 or 3 pages per month but I enjoy it. Honestly I love spending time doing craft stuff because I feel so chilled doing it and it reminds me of when I was younger. Creating a scrapbook is just another way for me to document the year alongside my journals and blogging.

Writing about my life has helped me become more confident as a person because from doing so I’ve learnt a lot about myself. However I still have a long way to go but it’s all just part of life. The thing that gives me hope though is thinking of how far I have come since I was 11 and that makes me very happy.

IMG_20140315_120920-1

Thanks for reading, you are all SPECTACULAR.

 

XO lmg

2 thoughts on “Documenting my life

Leave a Reply

