lmg June: Aspirations and future plans

When I was younger I wanted to be a fashion designer, an architect, a writer, an illustrator, an interior designer, a motivational speaker, a civil engineer, a designer, a teacher, a dancer, an actress, an environmentalist, a tv presenter. I wanted to do everything.

I’ve never had a permanent career goal like many of my friends who want to be doctors, lawyers and accountants.

I’m the kind of person who has always lived their life worried what others will think and scared that I won’t be good enough. Even with my blog, it’s not something I sing about from the hill tops.

As I’ve gotten to the end of my teenage years I have changed a lot in the sense that I have realised that I shouldn’t restrict myself and hold back or live in fear.

Currently I still don’t have my life plan set in stone but I know what I like.

Writing

I’ve always enjoyed writing from a young age but now I’m at a point where I can’t go a day without it. I love writing about things I have passion. I often write about people I meet and even just my day to day life whether its in my journal or on my blog.

Designing+creating

Whether its drawing or sewing, I cant get enough. In secondary school I also did woodwork and electronics for a few years and I loved that too. I think its being able to make something out of nothing that I enjoy. I’d love to be able to work in architecture or civil engineering and help bring a vision to life on a grand scale.

Speaking

This one is a little odd, but for maybe about a year or so now I’ve wanted to be a public speaker. The reason this one is a little odd is because I’m pretty sure public speakers are meant to have achieved something before they get into being a speaker and I have no idea what that would be for me. I love talking more than I like writing because it’s more personal. You can get a lot from the way a person talks whilst with words sometimes it’s difficult to interpret the writers meaning. I’ve always been a really chatty person and if I’m interested in something I can talk about it for days independent of whether or not I’m an expert. The main reason for this is because words are powerful, I’d love to be able to inspire people like others have done for me. Lately I have been loving Seth Godin, he’s just astounding.

Blogging

It’s one of my favourite things to do, it’s the perfect combination of everything I like to do. What I love about blogging is the reason that I like doing it, its not because I post stylish outfits, I have tonnes of followers, I get lots of likes or anything to do with the popularity of snippetsofthislife. I love blogging because its just me expressing my self, maybe the fact that I spent my early teen years suppressing everything because I was scared to be myself has something to do with it. I like that its something I started all on my own, not because someone made me do it or told me to.

My plan is to get a job, improve my blog (which is likely to come in the form of trial and error!) and reading a tonne of books so I can keep learning.

Its not very stable but for now that’s the best I can do. I’m not one for ‘the spontaneity of life’ but perhaps being 18 and not going to Uni means I have to step out and embrace it!

If you have any thoughts or advice let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

XO lmg

Leave a Reply

