Go-getter April: Week 1

Hello and welcome to Go-getter April: Week 1

When it comes you going after the things you want, it’s important to first establish, what in fact it is that you actually want.
Although there is nothing wrong with high aspirations it is also good to make your wants realistic. For example there is no use in wanting ‘the world’- a phrase I like to use to define wanting absolutely everything.

It is often good to prioritize these wants, least of all establish a central focus.

The next step would be to eliminate the factors that are stopping your achievements. Of course this phrase is not meant literally but in the sense that you ought to note these factors and then find a way to separate yourself from them so that they no longer have a negative effect on you. A example may be that like many, including me you’re scared of failing.
I’m the kind of person that is guilty of letting their thoughts run wild. My worst case scenario is putting my all into something and it not working out and then I end up right back where I started. When things like that happen I feel like I’ve just wasted my time.

The positive spin on a situation like that is the saying ‘all experience is an arch to build upon’ a fantastic quote by Henry Adams.


For this week I wanted to just share some thoughts with you.
My wants:

  • Good grades
  • Start exercising regularly
  • Eat healthily
  • Make some plans for the future

My central focus is:

  • Getting good grades

My limiting factors are:

  • Friends
  • Self doubt

Once you establish these things the next step is to find a way to move past them and pave the way to what you want.
Honestly I don’t believe there is one way to do this. I think that you have to find your own way.
Maybe there’s a quote that can become your positive mantra or maybe you are the type of person that needs to look in the mirror every morning and say ‘I can do anything, I can do anything, I can do anything.‘ because repetition is key 🙂

For me the way I try to move past my limiting factors is with the quote ‘nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm’.  I’m not claiming that nothing ever gets to me because that wouldn’t be true. There are many times that I feel defeated, over time I’ve realised that there are 2 things you can do: Let whatever it is get you down or know that if you are willing to be a go-getter and do everything you can for your wants then you deserve greatness.

Thanks for reading, enjoy your day 🙂

XO lmg

 

Leave a Reply

